Slow Cooker Beef and Bean Burritos

Almost every time we go out for Mexican food, husband will get a shredded beef burrito.  So this was a no-brainer to try.

This recipe is from Cooking Light, Jan/Feb 1997.

Substitutions noted below.

Slow Cooker Beef & Bean Burritos

2lb. London Broil
1.25 oz package taco season mix – I used the Trader Joes mix
Cooking Spray
1 c chopped onion
1 tblsp white vinegar
4.5 oz can chopped green chiles
16 oz can fat free refried beans – I used the Trader Joes fat free refried black beans
12 8inch fat free flour tortillas
1 1/2 c shredded Monterey Jack cheese – I used the Trader Joes three cheese blend
1 1/2 c chopped plum tomato
3/4 c fat-free sour cream

Trim fat from meat; rub seasoning mix over both sides of meat.  Place mean in an electric slow cooker coated with cooking spray; add onion, vinegar and green chiles.  Cover with lid; cook on low heat setting for 9 hours.

Remove meat from slow cooker, reserving cooking liquid; shred meat with two forks.  Combine meat and reserved cooking liquid; mix well.

Warm beans and tortillas according to package directions.  Spread 2 tblsp bean down the center of each tortilla.  Spoon a heaping 1/3 c meat mixture on top of beans.  Top each with 2 tblsp cheese, 2 tblsp tomato and 1 tblsp sour cream; roll up.

Using two forks to shred the meat was a bit time consuming.  After I finished (of course) I remembered a trick I read on Pintrest.  Chicken can be shredded by putting it in an electric mixer using the paddle attachment, I wonder if it would have worked with this beef?  I’ll try it for sure next time.

I thought this beef would be a bit more flavorful.  The next day the flavor had really sunk in and was super yummy.  This makes A LOT of shredded beef and I’m trying to decide the best way to use these leftovers.  Husband really liked these burritos and is ready for me to make them again.

One thought on “Slow Cooker Beef and Bean Burritos

  1. Pingback: Scrambled Enchiladas | Strawberries and Yogurt

Leave a comment