Cheese Ravioli w. Toasted Walnuts

I was looking through my recipe files looking for a vegetarian friendly recipe.  BUT since I was feeding it to husband, I had to include some hard core protein.

This recipe is from Real Simple, November 2007.

Substitutions made, noted below.

ravioli 2

Cheese Ravioli w. Toasted Walnuts

14 to 16 oz pacakage cheese ravioli (fresh or frozen)
1/3 c olive oil – I used 1/4 c
1/4 c walnuts, roughly chopped – I used pecans
1 clove garlic, sliced – I used minced garlic
2 tsp lemon juice
Kosher salt & pepper
1/2 c fresh flat leaf parsley, chopped – I used approx 1 tblsp dried
1/4 c grated Parmesan

Cook the ravioli according to the package directions.  Drain, reserving 3 tblsp of the cooking water.

Heat the oil in a med skillet over med heat.  Add the walnuts (pecans for me) and garlic.  Cook, stirring until the nuts are lightly toasted and fragrant, about 5 minutes.

Stir in the lemon juice, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, parsley and reserved cooking water.

Add the ravioli and toss to coat.  Divide among individual plates and sprinkle with the Parmesan.

ravioli 3

cartoon-strawberry-9I wasn’t sure how I would like ravioli drenched in oil, which is why I cut back on the amount of oil in the first place.  The lemon gave the sauce a good zing and the pecan/garlic combo added a bit of heartiness to the dish.  In the future, I’d cut back on the oil by half and add in some shredded chicken for an “all in one” meal.

Leave a Reply

