Shake & Bake

I love me some Shake N Bake chicken.  Super easy and super tasty.  When I would make it for my old roommate L, she would always tease me “It’s Shake N Bake, and I helped” as we were cooking.

Unfortunately it is also filled with ‘partially hydrogenated’ this and lots of things ending in ‘trin’ and ‘nate’.  I figured it couldn’t be too hard to make myself.

I found this recipe on AllRecipes.com, my mixture has been modified.

shakenbake 1

Homemade Shake & Bake Mix

4 c panko bread crumbs
1/3 c vegetable oil
1 tsp to 1/2 tlbsp salt – depending how salty you may like it
1 tblsp paprika
1 tblsp ground celery seed
1 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp minced garlic
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp dried basil
1/4 tsp dried parsley
1/4 tsp dried oregano

In a large resealable bag, combine all ingredients, mixing well.

2 cups of the mixture will generously coat 4 boneless skinless chicken breast.  Heat oven to 400 degrees and cook for 20 minutes, or until breast is firm and juices are clear.

shakenbake 2

cartoon-strawberry-9This mix is so good!  I burned my mouth scrapping up the little bits of crispy goodness right out of the pan.

On Friday, I’ll share with you what I used this chicken for.

2 thoughts on “Shake & Bake

    • I did. I stored it in a ziplock baggie in the fridge. The second half of the mixture was used within a week or so of mixing. Probably shouldn’t be stored indefinitely.

Leave a Reply

