Crispy Pork Medallions

You know those days?  The days when you want to hit the reset button, or crawl back into bed until its over?  The days when nothing and everything is just awful.  I had one of those days recently.  Despite my day, I still wanted to get a good dinner on the table.  And the weirdest thing happened.  As I was prepping, measuring, cutting, the awful day just seemed to melt away.  I didn’t have to focus on my bad attitude or my disappointments, all I had to do was measure a half cup of bread crumbs.  Cooking saved my day.

This recipe is from Cooking Light, November 2011.

Substitutions noted below.

Crispy Pork Medallions 1

Crispy Pork Medallions

2 tblsp Dijon mustard
1 (1 lb) port tenderloin, trimmed and cut into 8 medallions
1/2 c panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
1 tblsp chopped fresh thyme – I used dried
1 tblsp minced fresh parsley – I used dried
1/8 tsp salt
1/8 tsp black pepper
2 tblsp extra-virgin olive oil

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Rub mustard evenly over port medallions.  Combine panko, thyme, parsley, salt and pepper in a large bowl.  Dredge pork in panko mixture.  heat a large ovenproof skillet over med-high heat.  Add oil to pan; swirl to coat.  Add pork; saute 2 min or until golden brown.  Turn pork.  Place skillet in oven; bake at 450 for 8 minutes or until port reaches 145 degrees.  Let stand 3 minutes.

crispy pork medallions 3

cartoon-strawberry-9I didn’t cut my medallions evenly, so it took the bigger pieces a little longer to cook.  But husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe.  Tangy Dijon, crispy breadcrumbs, perfect combo.  This would also work well on chicken thighs or turkey cutlets.

Leave a Reply

