Sugar Cookies

How did I forget these cookies?  These are some of the best sugar cookies ever.

The recipe came from the packaging on the Wilton cookie tray.  The tray had cavities of hearts and “Valentiney” designs.

No substitutions were made.

sugar cookies

Sugar Cookies

1 c butter, softened
1 1/2 c granulated sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 tsp vanilla – b/c the almond extract is optional, I used 2 tsp of Vanilla
1/2 tsp almond extract (optional)
2 3/4 c all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly spray cookie pay with cooking spray

Beat butter and sugar with electric mixer at medium speed until well blended.  Beat in egg and extracts; mix well.  In a separate bowl, combine flour and slat; add to butter mixture.  Beat until well blended.

Press dough into cavities, filling 2/3 full.  Bake 9 -10 minutes or until lightly brown around edges.  Cool in pan 5 minutes.  Turn pan over; tap to remove cookies.  Cool completely on cooling rack.

cartoon-strawberry-9Did I say these cookies were good?  Husband even commented a couple nights ago how good they were.  (I think he was hinting for me to make more..)  There were 3 batches of these cookies made in about 2 days.  I did add a little red food coloring to some just to have some fun with the Valentine holiday.

I also did a simple glaze of powdered sugar, a little lemon extract and water, blended until clearish.  Then applied with a silicone brush.

I haven’t tried to roll these out and use with cookie cutters, but I think it’d work.  I’m sure I’ll be trying it soon.

Leave a Reply

