Country Ham and Asparagus Bake

Breakfast for dinner.  Brinner.  Dinfast.  Definitely a favorite in our house.

The recipe is from the Betty Crocker’s Diabetes Cookbook.

I made a few small substitutions, noted below.

ham casserole 1

Country Ham and Asparagus Bake

1 1/2 c chopped fully cooked ham
1 medium onion, chopped (approx 1/2 c)
1/4 c chopped bell pepper
1 package (10 oz) frozen asparagus or broccoli cuts – I used asparagus
8 eggs or 2 c egg subsitute – I used all eggs
2 c fat-free milk – I used 2%
1 c all-purpose four
1/4 c grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 tps dried tarragon
1 c shredded cheddar cheese – I used my fav 3 cheese blend from Trader Joes

ham casserole 2

Heat oven to 425 degrees.  Generously grease bottom and sides of a 13×9 baking dish.  Sprinkle ham, onion, bell pepper and asparagus in baking dish. – I used my pampered chef pan (no greasing).  I also tossed the ham and veggies together in a bowl before putting them in the baking dish.

Beat eggs, milk, flour, parm cheese, salt, pepper and tarragon with a fork or wire whisk in medium bowl until smooth; pour over ham mixture.

Bake uncovered about 20 min, or until a knife inserted comes out clean.  Sprinkle with cheddar cheese.  Bake 3 to 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.  Let stand 5 minutes before cutting.

ham casserole 3

cartoon-strawberry-9This is a easy and delish casserole.  Both husband and I liked this one and it’s a great use for leftover ham (from Christmas or Easter).

Leave a Reply

