Ultimate Red Velvet Cake

Husband wanted a red velvet cake for dessert on Christmas, so it gave me a chance to try out this recipe. Because what couple doesn’t need a 3 layer cake all to themselves on Christmas?

The recipe is from The Nest, Fall 2008

Recipe altered slightly, noted below.

red velvet 2

Ultimate Red Velvet Cake

3/4 c unsalted butter, softened
2 1/4 c sugar
3 large eggs, room temperature
6 tblsp red food coloring – I only had 5 tblsp on hand
3 tblsp unsweetened cocoa
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 c buttermilk
3 1/3 c cake flour (not self rising), sifted
1 1/2 tsp cider vinegar
1 1/2 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and lightly flour 3, 9 inch round cake pans and line bottoms with waxed paper. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beat well. – I used Baker’s Joy on the cake pans with no wax paper.

In a small bowl, whisk food coloring, cocoa and vanilla. Add to batter and beat well. In a measuring cup, stir salt into the buttermilk. Add to batter in three parts, alternating with the flour. In a small bowl, stir together cider vinegar and baking soda. Add to batter and mix well. – As I think back now, I’m pretty sure I forgot to sift the flour…

Divide batter among 3 pans. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool for 1 hour. Remove from pans and frost.

Red Velvet 1

Vanilla Frosting

1 1/2 c unsalted butter, softened
8 to 10 c confectioners’ sugar
3/4 c milk
1 tblsp vanilla extract

Place butter in a large mixing bowl, add 4 cups sugar, milk and vanilla. – My frosting had a yellowy tint to it b/c of my vanilla. If you want a pure white frosting, it would be better to use the clear vanilla.

Using an electric mixer, beat for 3 to 5 minutes. Add remaining sugar, 1 cup at a time, beating well after each addition, until it’s a good consistency for spreading. – I used 8 1/2 cups of sugar, but it was a little runny. I should have gone for 9 to 9 1/2 cups.

red velvet 3

cartoon-strawberry-9Here’s the thing, I desperately want to love red velvet cake. But this one just didn’t do it for me. The cake is a little dry and I want more than a faint hint of chocolate. Husband liked it, and thinks I’m being too picky.

2 thoughts on “Ultimate Red Velvet Cake

  1. I love all of the photos. I don’t think you’re being too picky. Red Velvet doesn’t do it for me either.

Leave a Reply

