Pierogies and Kielbasa

I’ve never had a pierogi before this recipe, did you know it has polish origins?  For some reason I thought the pierogi was an Italian dish.

This recipe came from Food Network Magazine, July/August 2011.

The recipe calls for a grill (or grill pan), neither of which I have, instead I used a 6 quart chef pan.

Grilled Pierogies and Kielbasa

1 lb kielbasa (pork or turkey), cut into 4 pieces
2 tblsp whole-grain mustard
2 tblsp apple cider vinegar
1/4 c extra-virgin olive oil
1 large white oinion, cut into 6 pieces
1 lb frozen potato and cheddar pierogies (do not thaw)
Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper
1/4 c roughly chopped fresh parsley

Preheat a grill to medium. Grill the kielbasa, turning, until marked 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer to a baking sheet or platter.
I heated my pan to medium, and cooked the kielbasa for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, whisk the mustard and vinegar in a large bowl.  Slowly whisk in 2 tablespoons olive oil until smooth.

Toss the onion and pierogies with the remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Grill, covered, until the pierogies thaw and the onion begins to soften, about 5 minutes. Turn the pierogies and onion and continue to grill, covered, until the pierogies are cooked through and the onion is tender, 4 to 6 more minutes. Transfer to the baking sheet or platter.
Since I was using my chef pan, I cooked the pierogies and onion for 10 minutes, turning frequently to brown the pierogies and soften the onion.

Slice the kielbasa into pieces and add to the bowl with the mustard dressing. Roughly chop the onion and add to the bowl along with the pierogies and parsley. Season with salt and pepper and toss.
I added the sliced kielbasa and mustard dressing directly to the pan, tossed so everything was coated and turned the heat to low. I let it sit for 3 minutes, added the parsley and served.

Husband and I were both on the fence about this one.  It wasn’t bad, but not amazing either.  Considering I wasn’t sure I could find frozen pierogies here in the south, I probably won’t go out of my way to make this recipe again.

Leave a Reply

