Ode to a Strawberry

strawberries

I love strawberry season.  I’ll buy 2 lbs of strawberries and eat them all myself in just a few days.  And there are endless recipes to be found using fresh strawberries.  Below I’ve listed the few I’ve made in the last month or so.  Click on the title to link to the recipe.

Roasted Strawberry Buttermilk Cake

roasted strawberry buttermilk cake

I made this for sweet Kari’s birthday cake.  Super Yum.  I would double the strawberries being roasted, just to be sure you have enough for the cake and extra for topping.  The roasted strawberries would be great too as a topping for yogurt in the mornings.

Strawberry Almond Bread

strawberry almond bread

I’ve made three loaves of this bread in the last month or so.  It’s great for toasting or sandwiches, and husband loves it.  I’ve used plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream each time.

Fresh Strawberry Mint Lemonade

strawberry-mint lemonade

I’m a sucker for anything with peppermint in it.  I did strain out a bunch of the pulp from the berries, but it’s still thick and wonderful.  I cut in a little Trader Joes Sparkling Lemon water to thin it out.

Strawberry Crumb Bars

strawberry crumb Collage

We had some friends over for dinner and I made this as our dessert.  So buttery.  So crumbly.  So good.  Make this now and invite some friends over for dessert.

Leave a Reply

